clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jamaal Clayborn Makes Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List

The senior center made it to the 2016 Fall Watch List for the Rimington Trophy yesterday.

Jamaal Clayborn, Mississippi State's senior center, was named to the Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List

From the Rimington Trophy's website:

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.6 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $120 million for the fight against cystic fibrosis.

Jamaal Clayborn is the first Bulldog since Dillon Day to be put on the watchlist for the award and he's expected to be a big reason for any improvements that are made to the offensive line this season.

And although it's big that he's getting some preseason love, it's important to remember that over 50 centers from 10 conferences (and 1 independent school) are named to this watchlist. The winner of the trophy will be recognized on January 14th, 2017.

You can check out the official release here.