clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Quick Question: Should Mississippi State Really Have Lost to South Alabama

New, comments

Assuming this picture isn’t edited, then maybe not.

As I was collecting questions for the next episode of For Whom the Podcast Tolls, our good friends over at College and Magnolia pointed this out to me.

Let’s take a look at this photo shall we?

Oh, huh, everything looks normal. South Alabama is evil and is celebrating...

Wait...

Let’s take a closer look...

Okay, to me it looks like there's two guys wearing the number 12 out there on the field. Let's double check...

Well, there's one guy...

Oh, hey, look. Here's the second...

Given where these guys are on the field, it's highly unlikely that this happened as the entire team rushed onto the field in time for this photo to be taken, but I might be wrong. Also, for those that don't know, you're not allowed to have two guys wearing the same number on the field at the exact same time. That's against rules, and stuff. Well, it was last I checked. Again, I might be wrong.

And yeah, everybody who is going to remind me again, the game shouldn't have come down to this one play anyway. But it did. And yes, I know that we would've had to have kicked another field goal, which isn't a guaranteed thing. And before you ask, yes, I'm still bitter. And I'm sad. Mostly sad.

Anyway, if I am wrong, please let me know. If I'm not wrong, please help me schedule a rematch.