clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kylin Hill Wins Conerly Award

Kylin Hill wins the award for the best player in the state of Mississippi

Mississippi State v Texas A&M Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images

STARKVILLE, Miss. — Mississippi State junior running back Kylin Hill took home the 2019 C Spire Conerly Trophy at an awards ceremony at the Country Club of Jackson on Tuesday night.

The Conerly Trophy has been awarded to the top player in the state of Mississippi for 24 years now. This is the ninth time a Bulldog has won the award and the second year in a row after defensive tackle Jeffery Simmons won it last year.

Hill led the Southeastern Conference in rushing this season with 1,347 yards and 10 touchdowns, including 132 yards rushing on 27 carries in a 21-20 victory against Ole Miss in the 92nd annual Battle for the Golden Egg on Thanksgiving Day.

He is just 45 rushing yards away from setting the school single-season record, which is currently owned by former running back Anthony Dixon (1,391 in 2009).

Hill joins Simmons, Dak Prescott (2014, 2015), Gabe Jackson (2013), Chris White (2010), Dixon (2009), Jerious Norwood (2005) and J.J. Johnson (1998) as the other Mississippi State players to win the award.