clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mississippi State’s First Official Depth Chart Released

See who starts for MSU.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: AUG 31 Louisiana v Mississippi State Photo by John Korduner/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

STARKVILLE - Miss. — Mississippi State released its first official depth chart on Monday before the season opener against No. 6 LSU.

The Bulldogs return 12 starters from the 2019 team, including four on offense (RB Kylin Hill, WR Osirus Mitchell, OL Greg Eiland and OL Dareaun Parker), four on defense (DT Jaden Crumedy, DE Marquiss Spencer, LB Erroll Thompson and S C.J. Morgan) and four specialists (PK Jace Christmann, KO Scott Goodman, LS Paul Blackwell and P Tucker Day).

The Bulldogs lost 27 letterwinners along with 15 offensive and defensive starters. Notable departures include LB Willie Gay Jr., CB Cameron Dantzler, OT Tyre Phillips, QB Tommy Stevens and S Brian Cole II who were all selected in the 2020 NFL Draft.

Something to note, the quarterback position is still an “or” between graduate transfer K.J. Costello and incoming freshman Will Rogers.

The Bulldogs kickoff the season on Saturday at 2:30 p.m. CT in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, against the reigning national champion LSU Tigers.


Left Tackle

1. Charles Cross

2. Kameron Jones

Left Guard

1. Greg Eiland

2. LaQuinston Sharp


1. Cole Smith

2. James Jackson

Right Guard

1. Dareuan Parker

2. Brandon Cunningham

Right Tackle

1. Kwatrivous Johnson

2. Scott Lashley

Wide Receiver (X)

1. Malik Heath


Cameron Gardner

Lideatrick Griffin

Wide Receiver (H)

1. JaVonta Payton

2. Geor’quarius Spivey


Garrett Shrader

Wide Receiver (Y)

1. Austin Williams

2. Jaden Walley

Wide Receiver (Z)

1. Tyrell Shavers

2. Osirus Mitchell


Caleb Ducking

Dontea Jones


1. K.J. Costello


Will Rogers

Running Back

1. Kylin Hill

2. Jo’quavious Marks


Dillon Johnson

Lee Witherspoon


Defensive End

1. Kobe Jones

2. Jack Harris

Nose Tackle

1. Jaden Crumedy

2. Nathan Pickering

Defensive Tackle

1. Marquiss Spencer

2. Aaron Odom


1. Tyrus Wheat

2. Jordan Davis


1. Erroll Thompson

2. Nathaniel Watson


1. Aaron Brule

2. Jett Johnson


Rodney Groce Jr.


1. Martin Emerson

2. Decamerion Richardson

Free Safety

1. Fred Peters

2. Collin Duncan

Bulldog Safety

1. Marcus Murphy

2. Shawn Preston Jr.

Strong Safety

1. Londyn Craft

2. Dylan Lawrence


1. Esaias Furdge

2. Emmanuel Forbes


Place Kicker

1. Brandon Ruiz

2. Jace Christmann


Nolan McCord

Kickoff Specialist

1. Brandon Ruiz

2. Scott Goodman


Tucker Day


1. Tucker Day


Reed Bowman

Long Snapper

1. Paul Blackwell

2. Hayes Hammond


Colby Cox


1. Reed Bowman

2. Tucker Day

Kick Returner

1. JaVonta Payton


Jo’quavious Marks

Punt Returner

1. Austin Williams

2. Lee Witherspoon