clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Renfroe Named Recipient of 2013 C Spire Ferriss Trophy

Mississippi State's Hunter Renfroe was named the best collegiate baseball player in Mississippi today in a ceremony held at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.

Mississippi State University | Joe Dier

JACKSON, Miss. — Mississippi State junior outfielder Hunter Renfroe was named the 2013 recipient of the C Spire Ferriss Trophy on Monday afternoon at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.

“It’s the greatest honor of my baseball career,” said Renfroe afterwards. “It was an honor to be on the platform with these other talented players and such a thrill to win an award named after Coach Ferriss.”

A .293 career hitter, Renfroe sports a league-best .691 slugging percentage and also ranks among the SEC leaders in batting average (.362), on-base percentage (.459), RBI (51), hits (68), runs scored (48) and total bases (130).

The Cellular South Ferriss Trophy is presented annually to the top collegiate baseball player in the state of Mississippi and is named for "Boo" Ferriss, former Delta State head coach and member of the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame, Delta State Hall of Fame and Boston Red Sox Hall of Fame.

The five finalists for this year's award were Renfroe, Stuart Turner (Ole Miss), Bobby Wahl (Ole Miss), Andrew Pierce (Southern Miss), and Josh Branstetter (Delta State).

For Renfroe and his Mississippi State teammates the road to the Omaha for the College World Series will begin Tuesday night in Hoover, AL as they take on Missouri in the first round of the 37th annual SEC Baseball Tournament.