clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chris White Wins Conerly Trophy

The Conerly Trophy ceremony was held at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame tonight, and Mississippi State's Chris White, a senior linebacker and Vancleave, Mississippi native, won the award given annually to the top college football player in the state.

This is the second year in a row that a Mississippi State player has won the award. Anthony Dixon won the award last year. White is also the 4th Bulldog to win the award. In addition to Dixon, J.J. Johnson and Jerious Norwood have also won the award. This is also the only time in the 15 year history of the award that a school has won two years in a row.

The only other defensive player to win the award is Patrick Willis in 2006.