clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Moultrie Pulls Down the Howell Trophy

Averaging 16.1 points a game and leading the SEC in rebounds at 10.7 boards a contest will garner some attention, and in the case of Arnett Moultrie, it will also bring you the Howell Trophy.

Named after Mississippi State legend Bailey Howell, the trophy goes to the top collegiate basketball player in Mississippi.

Moultrie, who is playing for the Bulldogs after transferring from Texas-El Paso, produced one of the greatest regular seasons in Mississippi State history. The junior has an SEC high 18 double-doubles.

Moultrie ranks fourth in the SEC in scoring, and he leads Anthony Davis by almost one rebound a game for the top spot in the SEC.

In terms of production, many have compared Moultrie's run at Mississippi State to the two years turned in by Lawrence Roberts. In both 2003-2004 and 2004-2005, Roberts averaged 16.9 points per game. In his junior year, he pulled down 10.1 boards per contest, and 11 in his senior year.

To compare his season to some others, Charles Rhodes averaged 17.4 points and 7.8 boards per contest in 2007-2008. In what may have been his best season, Mario Austin averaged 16.1 points and 7.6 rebounds per contest in 2001-2002. Erick Dampier's best season saw him average 14.5 points and 9.3 rebounds per game.

All these seasons pale in comparison to the career numbers of Howell. The Hall of Famer averaged 27.1 points and 17 rebounds per contest when wearing the maroon and white.

Dee Bost, who was a finalist, has also had a tremendous year. The all-time Bulldog leader in assists also leads the SEC with 5.3 dimes a game, and he is fifth in scoring at just under 16 points per contest. Bost also finished the regular season tied for first in steals in the conference.