clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mississippi State Quarterback Dak Prescott Named Finalist for Maxwell, O'Brien Awards

Dak Prescott has been named a finalist for two awards.

John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

The man running Mississippi State's offense during the greatest season in school history has been named a finalist for two national awards as Dak Prescott learned he is finalist for the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien Awards Tuesday.  No Bulldog before Prescott had been named as a finalist for either award.

Prescott, the first Bulldog named a finalist for a national collegiate player of the year award, joined Oregon's Marcus Mariota and Wisconsin's Melvin Gordon as finalists for the Maxwell Award.

The Davey O'Brien Foundation also named Prescott a finalist for its award which goes to the best quarterback in college football. Prescott fits the description as the only player in college football to rank in the top-20 in both rushing and passing touchdowns, and he is the only player in the country with more than 2700 passing yards and 750 rushing yards.

TCU's Trevone Boykin and Mariota joined Prescott as finalists for the O'Brien Award.

Bulldog fans can cast their vote once a day for Prescott at