clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mississippi State's Dak Prescott on Davey O'Brien Watch List

Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott has landed a spot on the Davey O'Brien watch list.

Stacy Revere

Mississippi State junior quarterback Dak Prescott has already seen his name put on the Maxwell Award Watch List, and now the Bulldogs' signal caller has been named to the 2014 Davey O'Brien Award Watch List.

The O'Brien Award goes to the nation's best quarterback, and the winner will be announced on December 11.

In all, 39 quarterbacks saw their names added to the watch list, which is not a requirement to win the award. Four other SEC quarterbacks appeared on the watch list: Jeff Driskel (Florida), Nick Marshall (Auburn), Hutson Mason (Georgia), and Bo Wallace (Ole Miss). Overall, the Pac-12 led the list with eight quarterbacks, followed by the SEC, Big 10 and Big 12 with five selections each. The Mountain West had four selections, while the American Athletic Conference and Independent schools had three selections each.  The ACC had two selections including last year's winner Jameis Winston.  Conference USA also had two quarterbacks make the list and the MAC and Sun Belt each had one quarterback.

The field will be narrowed to 16 semifinalists on November 3, and a list of three finalists will be announced on November 24.