clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jake Mangum wins 2016 Ferriss Trophy

Mississippi State freshman wins 2016 Ferriss Trophy.

Kelly Price/MSU Athletics

Mississippi State phenom freshman Jake Mangum won the 2016 Ferriss Award on Monday.

Mangum, a true freshman from Pearl, currently has the top batting average in the SEC with .427. It is likely that Mangum will win the SEC Freshman of the Year award, which would be the first in Mississippi State program history.

Mangum is the first Ferriss winner from Mississippi State since Hunter Renfroe in 2013 and is the fifth winner in program history, joining Thomas Berkery (2006), Ed Easley (2007), Chris Stratton (2012), and the aforementioned Hunter Renfroe (2013).

With Mangum's win, Mississippi State now ties Ole Miss for the most Ferriss winners by program at five.

The Ferriss Trophy is named after Dave "Boo" Ferriss, who was a standout pitcher at Mississippi State from 1941-1942. Ferriss went on to pitch for the Boston Red Sox from 1945-1950, a five year career in which he had a 3.64 ERA with 296 strikeouts and a record of 65-30.

Congratulations to Mangum P.I. himself on this honor.