clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gabe Jackson Announced as Conerly Trophy Finalist

Gabe Jackson represents the Mississippi State Bulldogs among the list of finalists for the C Spire Conerly Trophy, the award given to the top college football player in Mississippi.

Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

Mississippi State offensive lineman Gabe Jackson and the 2012 Conerly winner Bo Wallace stand out as the favorites in the ten man race to receive the 2013 C Spire Conerly Trophy, the award given to the top college football player in Mississippi.

Jackson, considered by many as one of the top offensive linemen in the country and potential high draft pick, would be the first Bulldog to win the award since linebacker Chris White in 2010.  He would also be the first offensive lineman to go home with the trophy. Jackson has been named the SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week on three occasions in 2013.

His strongest competition to win the award will be the player who walked away with it last year, Ole Miss quarterback Bo Wallace.  Should Wallace win, he will become only the second person to win the award twice (Eli Manning), and he would be the first to win the award in back-to-back years.

For the first time ever, fans will have a chance to have say in who takes home the Conerly.  The fan vote will count 10% towards the decision, and more information can be had at

The award, which has been given out since 1996, has been given to an Ole Miss player on five occasions.  Mississippi State and Southern Mississippi have both had a player win the award on four occasions.  A Statesman from Delta State has walked away with the hardware twice, and a member of the Millsaps Majors has won the award once.

Other finalists for the award, which will have a winner announced at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame on December 3 include:

  • Alcorn State running back Arnold Walker
  • Jackson State quarterback Clayton Moore
  • Southern Miss defensive tackle Khyri Thornton
  • Millsaps running back Mike Barthelemy
  • Delta State wide receiver Ricky Hunt
  • Mississippi College quarterback Jonathan Redd
  • Mississippi Valley State cornerback Avery Boykin
  • Belhaven offensive lineman Matt Hall