clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mississippi State Bulldogs' MVP in win over Vanderbilt

When your team picks up a 51-0 victory, there are probably several players who helped pick up the win. Here is your chance to vote on the MVP of the Mississippi State Bulldogs' win over the Vanderbilt Commodores.

Spruce Derden-USA TODAY Sports

Well, picking an MVP after a win is much more fun than trying to pick the best player in a losing effort.  As always with a route, finding the MVP of a contest can be tough because so many players end up making significant contributions during the game.  Here is our best shot at a slate of candidates:

Dak Prescott: The quarterback did not put up his biggest numbers of his career, but he turned in a solid performance against the Commordores, but he still went 16-21 (a significant completion percentage improvement) for three touchdowns, 197 yards and no interceptions.  He also added another score on the ground.

Joe Morrow: Everyone has been waiting for a major breakout performance from the Ocean Springs High School product, and he delivered it against Vanderbilt, hauling in five catches for 79 yards and two scores. His first touchdown was very significant as it came right after a rushing touchdown had been waived off by a suspect penalty call.

Mississippi State Rushing Attack: No one on the squad had a huge individual performance, but as a whole, the team ran for 283 yards and two touchdowns.  Brandon Holloway led the was on the ground with ten carries and 68 yards, and Josh Robinson ended up averaging 9.0 yards per carry in the contest.

Turtle Holmes: The senior came up big in his last game at Davis Wade Stadium, picking up seven tackles, and forcing a fumble, recovering it, and taking it 51 yards for a touchdown.

Richie Brown: The human-tackling machine turned in a team high  ten tackles in the contest.

Matt Wells: The often overlooked linebacker turned in another solid performance with 1.5 sacks.

Which of these players should get the nod, or did we miss someone one.  Vote and let us know in the comments section.