clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mississippi State's Ben Beckwith is a Finalist for the Burlsworth Trophy

A walk-on when he arrived, Ben Beckwith has developed into a top flight offensive lineman.

Photo Credit: Mississippi State University

The road to the Burlsworth Trophy does not usually follow the distinguished path that many Heisman Trophy winners take.  The Burlsworth winners start and take a road of sacrifice aided only by a dream, as the award annually goes to the best player in college football who began his career as a walk-on.  Mississippi State's Ben Beckwith learned he was a finalist for the award Tuesday.

East Carolina's Justin Hardy and Iowa's Mark Weisman will join Beckwith in Springdale, Ark. on Dec. 8 for the Burlsworth Trophy Ceremony.

Beckwith, the only lineman in the SEC to be named SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week on three occasions this season, has played multiple positions for the Bulldogs, and he has helped Mississippi State rank in the top-15 for fewest tackles for loss allowed.  He is also the first Bulldog named a finalist for the award.