clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mississippi State Defensive Coordinator Geoff Collins Named Broyles Award Nominee

Mississippi State Defensive Coordinator Geoff Collins has been recognized as one of the top assistant coaches in college football.

The Rotary Club of Little Rock announced their nominees for the Broyles Award Wednesday, and Mississippi State defensive coordinator Geoff Collins found his name on the list.  The winner will be announced on December 9 at 11:30 am in Little Rock.

Collins joins Lane Kiffin (Alabama), Robb Smith (Arkansas), Dave Steckel (Missouri), and Dave Wommack (Ole Miss) as the SEC representatives on the nominee list.  Former Mississippi State defensive coordinator Manny Diaz has alos made the list for his work at Louisiana Tech this season as their defensive coordinator.

The award, established in 1996 and named after former Arkansas coach Frank Broyles, goes to the top assistant college football coach in America.  Michigan State's Pat Narduzzi won the award last year.