clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Everything You Need To Know About MSU At SEC Media Days 2015

Football is almost here and that means it's time for the annual football circus that is SEC Media Days.

Marvin Gentry-USA TODAY Sports

Mississippi State will get their time in the southeastern media sun on Tuesday, July 14 at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, AL. The Bulldogs will share time with the Tennessee Volunteers from 1-4 P.M. that day.

Head coach Dan Mullen will be joined by MSU student athlete representatives quarterback Dak Prescott, cornerback Taveze Calhoun, and defensive end Ryan Brown. SEC Media Days will be covered generally by the SEC Network and the ESPN family of networks. Dan Mullen's entire segment and Q&A will be aired on the SEC Network and SEC Network+. Hail State Productions will also be in attendance and will release behind the scenes content the following day Wednesday, July 15.

This will be Dak Prescott's second appearance at Media Days. As a junior in 2014, Prescott broke 12 MSU single-season stats records, throwing for 3,449 yards, rushing for 986 yards, and accounting for 27 touchdowns. He's expected to compete for the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award in 2015.

Prescott will also represent the Bulldogs in the new 'Beyond The Field: Stories of the SEC' initiative in which each school sends one student-athlete with a compelling story outside of his athletic endeavors to be featured.

Senior Taveze Calhoun has been a two-year starter for the Bulldogs. He collected 53 tackles, an interception, and a forced fumble in 2014.

Senior Ryan Brown finished with 39 tackles (7 for loss) and 3.5 sacks a year ago. Brown has only started one season at MSU but he made a critical impact on the Bulldogs' defensive line.

SEC Media Days begins at 12:30 P.M. EST on Monday, July 13 and continues through Thursday, July 16. Take a look at the full schedule here.

Here's the full list of student athletes attending from each school:

Reggie Ragland, Sr., LB
Kenyan Drake, Sr., RB
Ryan Kelly, Sr., OL

Jonathan Williams, Sr., RB
Brandon Allen, Sr., QB
Keon Hatcher, Sr., WR

Jeremy Johnson, Jr., QB
Jonathan Jones, Sr., DB
Kris Frost, Sr., LB

Jonathan Bullard, Sr., DE
Brandon Powell, So., WR
Vernon Hargreaves III, Jr., DB

Malcolm Mitchell, Sr., WR
John Theus, Sr., OT
Jordan Jenkins, Sr., OLB

Melvin Lewis, Sr., NG
Jordan Swindle, Sr., OT
A.J. Stamps, Sr., S

Leonard Fournette, So., RB
Vadal Alexander, Sr., OT
Kendell Beckwith, Jr., LB

Ole Miss
Evan Engram, Jr., TE
Mike Hilton, Sr., DB
C.J. Johnson, Sr., LB

Mississippi State
Dak Prescott, Sr., QB
Taveze Calhoun, Sr., DB
Ryan Brown, Sr., DE

Kenya Dennis, Sr., DB
Maty Mauk, Jr., QB
Evan Boehm, Sr., C

South Carolina
Elliott Fry, Jr., PK
Pharoh Cooper, Jr., WR
Skai Moore, Jr., LB

Joshua Dobbs, Jr., QB
Curt Maggitt, Sr., LB/DL
Cameron Sutton, Jr., DB

Texas A&M
Mike Matthews, Sr., C
Germain Ifedi, Jr., OT
Julien Obioha, Sr., DL

Ralph Webb, So., RB
Nigel Bowden, So., LB
Spencer Pulley, Sr., C