clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mississippi State releases depth chart ahead of Week 1 game vs. Louisiana Tech

The 2021 season kicks off on Saturday at 3 p.m.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: DEC 31 Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl - Tulsa v Mississippi State Photo by Matthew Pearce/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

STARKVILLE, Miss. — Mississippi State football released its first depth chart on Monday ahead of Saturday’s season opener against Louisiana Tech at Davis Wade Stadium. The game will kick off at 3 p.m. CT and be televised by ESPNU.

The most notable part of the depth chart is the “or” at starting quarterback, but that’s not abnormal for programs led by Mike Leach. Sophomore Will Rogers and South Alabama transfer Chance Lovertich will compete for the starting job.

At the starting running back spot, sophomores Jo’quavious Marks and Dillon Johnson also got the “or” treatment, while redshirt senior Austin Williams and sophomore Jaden Walley are battling for the starting spot at the “Y” receiver.

There are also two special teams position battles at punter and long snapper. Redshirt senior Tucker Day and redshirt sophomore Archer Trafford will compete for the punting duties, while either redshirt freshman Hayes Hammond or redshirt freshman Colby Cox will handle the long-snapping duties.

Week 1 Depth Chart:



Will Rogers


Chance Lovertich

Running back

Jo’quavious Marks


Dillon Johnson

Wide receiver (X)

Malik Heath

Lideatrick Griffin

Wide receiver (H)

Jamire Calvin

Rufus Harvey

Left tackle

Charles Cross

Nick Jones

Left guard

Kameron Jones

Cole Smith


LaQuinston Sharp

Cole Smith

Right guard

Kwatrivous Johnson

Cordavien Suggs

Right tackle

Scott Lashley

Albert Reese IV

Wide receiver (Y)

Austin Williams


Jaden Walley

Christian Ford

Wide receiver (Z)

Makai Polk

Caleb Ducking


Defensive end

Randy Charlton

De’Monte Russell

Nose guard

Cameron Young

Nathan Pickering

Defensive tackle

Jaden Crumedy

Jack Harris

Sam linebacker

Tyrus Wheat

Sherman Timbs


Rodney Groce Jr.

Mike linebacker

Nathaniel Watson

DeShawn Page

Will linebacker

Aaron Brule

Jett Johnson


Martin Emerson

Decamerion Richardson


Emmanuel Forbes

Esaias Furdge

Free safety

Collin Duncan

Jay Jimison

Strong safety

Jalen Green

Dylan Lawrence


Fred Peters

Shawn Preston Jr.



Brandon Ruiz

Nolan McCord


Tucker Day


Archer Trafford

Kickoff specialist

Brandon Ruiz

Scott Goodman

Kick returner

Lideatrick Griffin

Jo’quavious Marks

Punt returner

Austin Williams

Emmanuel Forbes

Long snapper

Hayes Hammond


Colby Cox


Tucker Day