clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College World Series game times and matchups set

Mississippi State and Oregon State will face off to open the 2013 College World Series.


After securing its first birth in the College World Series since 2007 and its 9th in school history, the Mississippi State Bulldogs learned late Monday night who their opening opponent would be in the College World Series starting this upcoming weekend.

In a winner take all game three in Corvallis, Oregon, the national number three seeded Oregon State Beavers edged out the Kansas State Wildcats 4-3, making the Beavers the seventh team to secure their spot in Omaha.

Also on Monday, the NCAA announced the pairings and game times for this year's eight time final, and that announcement saw MSU tabbed to play the opening game of this year's tournament on Saturday, June 15th.

Mississippi State and Oregon State will kick off the 2013 CWS on Saturday at 2 p.m. CT. Also in MSU's four-team side of the bracket is Lousiville, who went to Nashville and shocked the national number two seed Vanderbilt in two games, and Indiana, a first time participant and fellow shocker, as the Hoosiers went into Tallahassee and took two games from national number seven seed Florida State.

On the other side of things, number four national seeded LSU and UCLA are matched up, and North Carolina State is in as well, but the Wolfpack still await word on who they will play, as North Carolina and South Carolina's decisive game three was postponed until today due to weather.

The CWS format includes two brackets of four teams, with each bracket playing a double elimination format. Once a team has essentially "won" its bracket, they will move on to the championship series -- a best of three between the two bracket winners to determine the national champion.

All games in the CWS will be televised by either ESPN or ESPN2.